Studentenwerk Halle

Labeling of allergens and contents

We generally indicate whether dishes contain alcohol.
For dishes with meat, the type of animal is indicated.
Vegetarian or vegan dishes are marked accordingly.
For meatless dishes, we also label gelatin, animal rennet and real carmine.

Please note:
The labeling in our cafeterias is based on information from the manufacturers and suppliers. However, these are not legally obliged to declare the origin of the rennet, the flavors and the additives.
Therefore, we cannot completely exclude the presence of these ingredients and additives in our dishes.
Due to the manufacturing processes in our cafeterias and cafebars, despite the greatest care and extensive, regular training, it cannot always be ruled out that ingredients will be mixed or cross-contamination will occur.
We therefore accept no liability for the completeness of the listed ingredients.

You can find an overview of the additives and allergens we label in the central column.

What definitions do we use?

Meatless
All dishes that contain neither meat, fish nor soft or crustaceans.

Vegetarian
All plant-based foods and products derived from live animals, for example milk, eggs and honey, but no meat and fish or products made from them, such as. B. gelatin or lard.
That is why our vegetarian dishes are free from all types of meat and fish, gelatin, carmine and animal rennet (as far as we have this information).

Vegan
Vegan dishes are free from all types of meat and fish, milk, bee and egg products, gelatin, carmine and animal rennet (insofar as we have this information).

FAQ - Frequently asked questions

What is food intolerance? What is the difference between allergies and intolerances?
With an allergy, the immune system develops antibodies against actually completely harmless substances, such as food for example. If you eat these foods again, there is a defense reaction of the immune system with sometimes very serious immediate reactions, such as shortness of breath, hives (urticaria), itching and swelling of the skin or mucous membranes, gastrointestinal complaints and/or circulatory problems up to the loss of consciousness. Food intolerances are very diverse and can e.g. B. occur when eating food additives, milk sugar or fructose. The immune system plays no role here. Gastrointestinal complaints (lactose intolerance, fructose intolerance) or skin symptoms (food additives) are more likely to occur.

What is an allergen? And for whom is this labeling important?
An allergen is understood to mean a wide variety of small protein structures, e.g. B. can be found in plant and animal foods. As a rule, these proteins are completely harmless. However, if the immune system erroneously forms antibodies against these harmless substances, contact with the allergens can lead to strong over-reactions of the immune system. Since the only therapy for an allergy to certain foods is to refrain from doing so, it is of great importance for allergy sufferers to find out whether their “allergen” is possibly contained in foods that they have not prepared themselves. This is the only way he can protect himself from unconscious allergen contact.

Which allergens are labeled?
An overview of the labeled allergens, additives and ingredients can be found under University Gastronomy> Labelable additives and allergens.

Are the possible traces of allergens in food also labeled?
According to the current Food Information Regulation No. 1169/2011, the 14 allergens that have to be declared are only to be mentioned if they are added directly to a dish according to the recipe, regardless of the amount (exception: SO2 / sulfite). Traces, i.e. unintentional contamination of a food with the allergens mentioned, are legally not subject to labeling. In addition, cross-contamination and technologically unavoidable mixing of individual products cannot be completely avoided due to the conditions in commercial kitchens such as our canteens. However, great care is taken to store, prepare and dispense products separately.

Are there allergens in all dishes? Are there allergy-free dishes in the facilities?
In principle, almost all foods have structures that can trigger allergies. However, only the 14 most common food allergens are subject to declaration. Since we use all 14 allergens in our facilities, we cannot rule out 100% cross-contamination. For your and our safety, we deliberately do not sell "allergen-free" dishes.

How do we - your Studentenwerk Halle - ensure that all allergens are properly declared?
All products that reach the facilities via purchasing and goods acceptance must have been properly declared by the manufacturer. This declaration is adopted in internal documentation systems and thus enables a correct declaration of the food recipes. These recipes must be strictly observed when producing food. Furthermore, all kitchen personnel is trained to comply with personal hygiene and regular hygiene standards, which must be observed before, between and after each work step. Nevertheless, with all these measures we can never rule out unconscious cross-contamination.

Is there an emergency plan, should an allergic reaction occur to a guest?
Generally, the rules of first aid always apply to acute allergic reactions. It is important that every employee in our canteens and cafebars knows a central phone number at which an emergency doctor can be called.

 

Additives and allergens

Unless otherwise stated, we only use iodized table salt in the preparation of our dishes.

1> with colouring agents
2> with preservative
3> with antioxidant
4> with flavor enhancer
5> sulfurized
6> blackened
7> with phosphate
8> waxed
9> with azo dye (s)
10> contains quinine
11> Contains caffeine
12> contains alcohol
15> with sweetener (s)
16> contains a source of phenylalanine

60> fat glaze containing cocoa
61> assembled from pieces of meat
62> assembled from pieces of fish
65> with gelatin
66> with microbial rennet
67> with animal rennet
68> with carmine E120

A> contains cereals containing gluten
A1> wheat
A2> rye
A3> oats
A4> barley
A5> spelt
B> contains crustaceans
C> contains egg
D> contains peanuts
E> contains soy
F> contains milk (lactose)
G> contains nut ingredients
G1> hazelnut
G2> almonds
G3> walnut
G4> cashew nuts
G5> pecans
G6> pistachios
G7> macademia nut
H> contains celery
I> contains mustard
J> contains sesame
K> contains SO2 / sulfite
L> contains lupine
M> contains molluscs
N> contains fish

45> pork
46> beef
47> poultry
48> fish
49> game
50> meatless
51> vegetarian
52> vegan
53> Sprint menu
54> mensaVital
55> organic food
56> lamb
 

Contact

Peggy Meilke

Ökotrophologin

Tel: +49 345 6847515

p.meilke@studentenwerk-halle.de

Place

Studentenwerk Halle - Verwaltung

Wolfgang-Langenbeck-Str. 5
06120 Halle

Google Maps

student assistants for our childcare CampusKids+ in Merseburg wanted

We are looking for student assistants for our childcare CampusKids+ on the campus of the Merseburg University of Applied Sciences. Interested? Find more information at Studentenwerk Halle > About us > Jobs.

You'll never miss your favourite meal again!

YUMMY - Your Useful Mensa MemorY: Easily create e-mail-reminders for your favourite meals: www.meine-mensa.de